The Dude’s client-server architecture

In my previous post, I discussed about the installation process of Dude for Windows. I mentioned that my goal was to build a Dude agent and to implement the client-server architecture.

Let’s finish this scenario!

The installation process of Dude for RouterOS is described in this post. You can use the same model also for this newer version 6.xx. Even better, this new version can utilise other RouterOS devices as the Dude agents.

This process is slightly different in the new Dude version 6.xx. I will indicate any step that is specific only for the Windows version.

Keep in mind that both client and server must be on the same version. The server will detect other Dude instance, but can’t use it as its agent. In addition, the network ports are different between versions.

 

Tagging the host as a Dude server

The first step was to tag my new Dude server. In case that Dude was installed before I added this host on my map, the Dude server will detect automatically another instance of Dude. The good news is that this process can be performed manually and requires only one click.

I found my server on the map, right-clicked on it and chose the option named Settings. The Settings dialog opened. I chose the first tab named General.

13

I clicked on the option named Dude Server and then clicked on [ Apply ]. That’s it. Now my Dude server knows that this machine has the instance of Dude that can be used as its client.

The second step was to add one more probe to this server. Although it’s not mandatory, I found this step very useful. I changed tab to Services and added one more probe – dude.

14

I clicked on [ OK ] to close this , then I clicked again on [ OK ] to close the Settings dialog.

 

Adding a new agent

This step is specific only for the Windows version. The RouterOS version will automatically add all RouterOS devices with version 6.38.x or newer.

I clicked on the button named [ Settings ] and a new window opened. I chose the tab named Agents. I clicked on [ + ] and a new configuration dialog popped up.

clip_image005

You need to enter here:

  • the agents name (this is your description)
  • IP address and port
  • username and password

As I already mentioned in my previous post, always use the secure port and secured communication. There is also difference in the port numbers. The old version 4.0 uses ports 2010 and 2011, but the new version 6.xx uses 8291, the same port as WinBox.

When I entered all information and clicked on the button [ OK ], this windows closed and a new agent appeared in the list.

clip_image006

 

Choosing the agent for your devices

The last step was to choose a new agent for every device on the map. This step is universal.

I chose one device (in this case, the same Hyper-V server), right-clicked on this icon, chose Settings and then the tab named General. From the drop-down list named Agent I chose this new agent.

17

I clicked on [ OK ] and voila!

Now, my new Dude agent will scan this device and send back information to the server.

I checked the communication between my Dude server and the Dude agent.

clip_image009

As you can see, regardless of the chosen probes and number of the hosts in the remote office, the single TCP connection is now established between the server and this remote location. Moreover, the Dude server stopped to directly monitor any device over the WAN link.

 

Help, my remote devices gone orange or red!

The last tip in this story is related to one more setting – the allowed SNMP source IP addresses. You should always limit the pool of the IP addresses that can query your devices.

clip_image010

In my case, I done this through the servers Group Policy. However, you can do the same process even locally on any standalone machine. Although I pictured here the SNMP service properties for the Windows server, the same applies to any manageable device (MikroTik routers, switches, etc.).

In addition, one host can be monitored with the multiple NMS servers. Such scenario will allow you to increase the monitoring efficiency. In case that one system face any network or system problem, other can still continue with operations. In addition, if one NMS is over the WAN link, you can distinguish a problem with any device, local area network or WAN link.

Stay tuned.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.